Truro To Host Atlantic Regional Driving Championship 2018!

Standardbred Canada (SC) is pleased to announce that Truro Raceway in Truro, Nova Scotia will host the Atlantic Regional Driving Championship on Friday, June 29, 2018.

SC has just announced the host tracks and dates for all of the Regional Driving Championships that will take place across the country this year. The top two drivers from each Regional competition will advance to the 2018 National Driving Championship at Grand River Raceway in Elora, Ont. on Wednesday, September 26.

The winner of the 2018 National Driving Championship will have the opportunity to represent Canada in the 2019 World Driving Championship in Sweden.

This is the first time that Truro has hosted a Regional Driving Championship during the 11 year history of these events. A field of eight of the top drivers from Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island will compete for points in the eight race event and a coveted spot in the National.

“Truro Raceway is excited to host the battle of the top drivers in the Maritimes with two spots in the National Driving Championship on the line,” says Kelly MacEachen, General Manager at Truro Raceway. “It’s an amazing opportunity for us to showcase what we have to offer but also a chance for the Truro community to experience high calibre racing right at home.”

Drivers must earn their way into the NDC by finishing first or second at their Regional Driving Championship. Here are the locations and dates for the four regional events:

  • Western Regional -- Century Downs; Saturday, June 23 (Includes drivers from British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba)
  • Ontario Regional – The Raceway at Western Fair District, Wednesday, May 16 (Drivers from Ontario)
  • Quebec / Eastern Ontario Regional – Kawartha Downs, Saturday, June 30 (Includes drivers that compete regularly at Kawartha Downs and Rideau Carleton Raceway in addition to Hippodrome 3R)
  • Atlantic Regional – Truro Raceway, Friday, June 29 (Includes drivers from New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island)

Regional events will feature either eight or nine drivers who will compete in a minimum of eight races. Drivers will receive points based on their finishing position and the top two point earners will advance.

Past winners of the NDC title include Brandon Campbell (2016). Jody Jamieson (2014 & 2011), Brad Forward (2009), and Gilles Barrieau (2007).

The winner of the 2018 National Driving Championship will have the opportunity to represent Canada in the World Driving Championship, and join 2017 World Driving Champion, James MacDonald, of Guelph, Ont., in the 2019 World Driving Championship in Sweden.

SC hosted the 2017 World Driving Championship (WDC) in August, 2017 and MacDonald’s victory earned him an automatic invitation to the 2019 event in which he will become the representative for the International Trotting Association. Canada was invited to send a second driver to the 2019 event and Standardbred Canada accepted the invitation.